top of page

Ivana Baquero: “Black Friday has a special place in my heart”

Teleaudiencias – La enciclopedia televisiva sat down with Ivana Baquero to talk upcoming Black Friday, her incredible career and more.


Q: Hello Ivana, thank you for being with us. How are you?

A: Hello. I'm good, thank you. Trying to cope with the situation as well as possible, although it is undoubtedly being a tough time for everyone.


Q: Your first movie was ‘Romasanta. La caza de la bestia’ by Paco Plaza. In that one you even worked with Elsa Pataky. What memories do you have of your debut?

A: Romasanta was my first contact with the magical world of cinema. It was a unique and tremendously constructive experience for an 8-year-old girl. I will always thank Paco Plaza, the director of the film, for giving me that opportunity. I remember Elsa very well, she was very sweet and helpful with me on the set. When I finished filming my first sequence she approached me and said "Congratulations Ivana, you are an actress already."


Q: But ‘El laberinto del fauno’ undoubtedly marked a before and after in your career, didn't it?

A: For sure! Its international repercussion, commercial success and rewarded awards gave me great visibility, and of course it opened several doors for me. As a result of the Pan's Labyrinth, I met those who would then become my representatives for the United States and that is how little by little I began to enter the American industry. Furthermore, working with a master like Guillermo Del Toro was an extraordinary experience and a great privilege. It was a magical time, both on the set and throughout the promotion.

(c) by Oscar Garcia
« I would love to take part in the new 'Lord of the Rings' series... what I would give to work in New Zealand again! »

Q: We have seen you playing the character of Eva Villanueva in the High Seas (Alta Mar) series on Netflix. How was the experience of working in a project where you are going be seen in more than 200 countries?

A: The truth is that when I stand in front of the camera, I am not influenced by the possible media impact. Once I step on that set and put myself in the shoes of the character, it does not matter if it is an indie production or an international blockbuster, the focus changes – and you focus on your companions and what is happening on stage.

That does not mean that I am excited that the series is going to be enjoyed worldwide, it is curious to think that your work will reach so many corners of the world, and it makes me very funny to gossip on different platforms and hear myself dubbed in other languages. I usually think that the person who dubbed me has done a better job than me! (laughs)


Q: Do you think a good foundation and proper training is necessary to become a good actress?

A: There are many ways to become a good actor. Even the very definition of what it is to be a "good actress" is relative and subjective. It is perfectly plausible to be a great performer without training, you just need to have talent and natural instinct. The rest comes with practice, which most of the time, in my opinion, is infinitely more important than theory.

That said, attending different courses or workshops can be tremendously enriching because they provide you with tools and resources to complement or reinforce your work.

Strictly speaking, I have never received "training" as an actor, although I have attended various classes and intensive courses both in the United States and in Spain and I find that they have always been tremendously enriching - it is a matter of finding what works best for each person.


Q: What do your family and friends tell you about your work in film and television? Are they your biggest critics?

A: My friends and family have always been my greatest support. Nobody usually misses my movies or series. In that sense they are both my biggest fans and my biggest critics. There is nothing like having people around you who really support you and want the best for you, and put your feet on the ground when necessary.

(c) by Oscar Garcia

« I would love to explore other facets behind the camera, such as direction or production, to be able to participate in its gestation from beginning to end. »

Q: What Spanish series are you hooked on at the moment? And which foreign one?

A: Well, as a result of lockdown, I have had a lot of time to catch up with series and many films. There are several Spanish series that have hooked me: Hierro, Patria, Foodie Love, Veneno… There is a lot of talent in Spain!

Some foreign series that I would stand out: Zero Zero Zero, Succession, Dark y the Korean Kindgom.


Q: If it depended on you, what series would you like to participate in? And which director would you like to work with in the future?

A: As I have recommended Zero Zero Zero, I would say that it would be very cool to be able to participate in the second season of the series. I would also love to work on the new Lord of the Rings series that is filming in New Zealand - what would I give to work there again!

The series has been directed by J. A. Bayona: a director with whom, for example, I would love to work in the future.


Q: We have also read in other interviews that you would like to work behind the scenes. How is that going?

A: I would certainly love to explore other facets behind the camera, such as directing or production. I am very interested in the development of projects, always from a creative perspective. I would love to create a project and participate in its gestation from start to finish.


Q: Which star, past or present, would you like to have dinner with and what would you talk about?

A: At the age of 12, at the Golden Globes ceremony, I met Leonardo DiCaprio, and obviously I was very impressed and didn't know what to ask. I was stunned as he congratulated me on the Pan's Labyrinth film. Now I would take advantage of a good dinner with him to talk about his career and his transition from child actor to adult actor, and how he prepares for the incredible characters he plays.

(c) by Oscar Garcia


« It is possible to be a great performer without training, it is only necessary to have talent and natural instinct. The rest comes with practice, which is more important than theory. »











Q: With so much work in your days, what is your perfect plan of relaxation and enjoyment at the end of the day or week?

A: Before the Covid I would have told you that my perfect day of relaxation would have consisted of going for a good relaxing massage, then going to the cinema with friends or family and treating us with a dinner in a good restaurant - preferably Japanese. Today I settle for a relaxing bath and a delicious homemade dinner – better if someone else cooks it for me (laughs) – while I watch a series that has me hooked.


Q: Put your social networks in this space and tell people why they should follow you.

A: I find that networks are great for interacting with people, for those who are interested in keeping up to date with my work, and for sending messages that are important to me and I think may be relevant to my followers.


Q: Finally, what future projects can you anticipate us? A: I recently finished shooting a movie in Boston titled Black Friday, directed by Casey Tebo. The cast includes Bruce Campbell, Devon Sawa, Michael Jai White, Ryan Lee… It will premiere this fall.

I really want to share more about this project, which has a special place in my heart, not only because it has been an incredibly fun experience, but because filming it in the middle of a pandemic will always be anecdotal.


Q: This space is for you to send a message to Teleaudiencias readers and your followers...

A: I'll end this interview just how I've started it, encouraging people to pursue their dreams regardless of the circumstances. Do not stop being excited in front of a screen, and I encourage people to continue consuming art and cinema, and above all to protect themselves and take good care of themselves.



Translation by Ivana Baquero Italia.

73 views

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentarer


bottom of page